Issue No. 35 Winter
(February 2012)


ENS News

Word from the President

Tapping unusual quarters: summary and conclusions

ENS Events

Pime 2012

RRFM 2012

TopSafe 2012

TopFuel 2012

ENC 2012

Member Societies

BNS Conference « Long Term operation of Nuclear Power Plants: Life beyond 40 years »

The Nuclear Society of Slovenia celebrates its twentieth birthday

10th Symposium on Nuclear Techniques

Population growth and standard of living: coming to terms with the considerable increase in mankind’s energy needs

News from the Finnish Nuclear Society (ATS)

RAAN – SITON: Focusing on the strategic area of the deep geologic dispol of radioactiv waste

Decision made on location of Spain’s Temporary Centralized Storage facility

Summary of the 494th Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Seminar on “Innovative Nuclear Power in a Closed Fuel Cycle Scenario"

YGN Report

Westinghouse executive wins major nuclear industry award

Corporate Members

The Belgian Nuclear Research Centre (SCK•CEN) and the Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA) extend their cooperation agreement

L-3MAPPS launches new simulator learning module

Rosatom launches its “Exhibition on Wheels”

Rosatom: an integrated approach to preserving the legacy of the nuclear industry

GUINEVERE: a world premiere

ENS World News

Recognising the unique contribution of women to nuclear in Europe

JRC launches initiatives to preserve and upgrade nuclear sector skills

Scholarship - LUCOEX

IAEA Foratom Management System Workshop

ENS sponsored conferences

ENS Members

Links to ENS Member Societies

Links to ENS Corporate Members

Editorial staff


PIME 2012

PIME 2012
12 - 15 February 2012 in Warsaw, Poland


RRFM 2012

RRFM 2012
18 - 22 March 2012 in Prague, Czech Republic


TopSafe 2012

TopSafe 2012
22 - 26 April 2012 in Helsinki, Finland


TopFuel 2012

TopFuel 2012
2 - 6 September 2012 in Manchester, United Kingdom


ENC 2012

ENC 2012
9 - 12 December 2012 in Manchester, United Kingdom


Editorial staff:

Editorial Staff:

Mark O’Donovan, Editor-in-Chief

Contributors to this Issue:

Marko Čepin (NSS)
Kirsten Epskamp (ENS)
Raluka Fako (Romanian Authority for Nuclear Activities)
Concetta Fazio (KIT-NUKLEAR)
Fredrik Johansson (LUCOEX)
Joachim Knebel (KIT-CSO)
Marco Streit (ENS)
Christer Svemar (LUCOEX)
Andrew Teller
Jean Van Vyve (BNS)


Marion Brünglinghaus

Rue Belliard 65, BE-1040 Brussels
Phone +32 2 505 30 50 - Fax: +32 2 502 39 02
E-mail: -

The ENS News is a quarterly publication, in electronic form only.
Copyright notice ©2012 European Nuclear Society.
Reproduction is authorised provided that the ENS News is acknowledged as the source – except where otherwise stated.

Home l Top l Disclaimer l Copyright l Webmaster