Centre of study on evaluation of the nuclear safety CEPN

CEPN is a a non-profit organisation created in 1976 to establish a research and development centre in the fields of optimisation of radiological protection and comparison of health and environmental risks associated with energy systems.


National Center for Scientific Research CNRS

The CNRS is a government-funded research organization, under the administrative authority of France’s Ministry of Research; Its scientists explore the living world, matter, the Universe, and the functioning of human societies in order to meet the major challenges of today and tomorrow. Internationally recognised for the excellence of its scientific research, the CNRS is a reference in the world of research and development, as well as for the general public. It is divided into 7 scientific departments, of which one is Nuclear and particle physics


Laboratory for Subatomic Physics and Cosmology

The Laboratory is a mixed research unit affiliated by 5 research affiliations (CNRS, IN2P3, UJF, and INPG). The aim of their research is to improve knowledge about the most elementary particles and about the forces that govern their interactions. It helps to broaden the understanding of the universe, its structure and its evolution. Our research also affects our everyday lives; for example, it enables us to come up with innovative solutions in the field of nuclear power or cancer treatment, and to train a new generation of researchers, teachers and engineers.


CEA – Department of Accelerators, Cryogenics and Magnetism

The Department of Accelerators, Cryogenics and Magnetism’s mission is to develop and realize particle accelerators, ion sources, accelerating cavities, cryogenic systems and superconducting magnets for Irfu’s scientific programs.


The Laboratory of Plasma Physics

The Laboratory of Plasma Physics is a laboratory grouping teams working on the themes of laboratory plasmas and space plasmas, cold and hot plasmas. The constituent teams are those of the Laboratory of Plasma Physics and Technology (LPTP, UMR 7648 CNRS-X,) and teams of the Center for the Study of Terrestrial and Planetary Environments (CETP, UMR 8639, CNRS, UVSQ, UPMC).


The Institute for Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety – IRSN

IRSN, a public expert with industrial and commercial activities, was set up in 2001.The Institute is placed under the joint authority of the Ministries of Defense, the Environment, Industry, Research, and Health. It is the nation’s public service expert in nuclear and radiation risks, and its activities cover all the related scientific and technical issues.


Meuse/Haute Marne Underground Research Laboratory

The Meuse/Haute Marne Underground Research Laboratory is a laboratory located 500 metres underground in Bure in the Meuse département. It allows study of the geological formation in order to evaluate its capacity for deep geological repository of high-level and long-lived medium-level radioactive waste. It is managed by the National Agency for the Management of Radioactive Waste or ANDRA (French: Agence nationale pour la gestion des déchets radioactifs).