The High Scientific Council

The High Scientific Council (HSC) consists of scientists of high repute from several European countries. The HSC is a scientific body within the Society that advises the ENS on nuclear-related developments in different science fields, including Physics, Biology, Medicine, Engineering and Social Sciences.  As well as serving as a think-tank and advisory body, the HSC provides statements on behalf of the ENS to the outside world on matters related to science and technology, and their impact on society. Read more in the published Position Papers.

Dr. Eric Proust

Director, The French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA), France

Prof. Laurence Williams

Emeritus Professor of Nuclear Safety and Regulation, Senior Research Fellow at Imperial College London; Visiting Professor at King’s College London, UK

Prof. Sevostian Bechta

Professor in Nuclear Power Safety and Head of NPS Division at Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan (KTH) - The Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden

Antonio Di Buono – Representative of the ENS Young Generation

School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Dalton Nuclear Institute, UK

Prof. Marco Ricotti

Full professor of Nuclear Power Plants at Politecnico di Milano, Department of Energy

Dr. Thomas Schröder

Consultant radioactive waste disposal, Nuclear Research and consultancy Group (NRG), The Netherlands

Prof. Ann Cuypers

Professor of Biology, Hasselt University, Belgium

Prof. Dr. Georg Steinhauser

Leibniz Universität Hannover · Institute of Radioecology and Radiation Protection, Germany

Prof. Eduardo Gallego

Professor at the Polytechnic University of Madrid, Spain

Prof. Ing. CSc. Jan Uhlir

Professor, Czech Technical University, Prague, Czech Republic

Dr. Ir. Georges Van Goethem

Member Royal Academy for Overseas Sciences of Belgium

Dr. Zoltán Hózer

Head of Fuel and Reactor Materials Department of the Centre for Energy Research in Budapest, Hungary

Dr. Neil Smart

Director of Research and Innovation, NIRO, United Kingdom

Dr. Heikki Suikkanen

Assistant Professor in Nuclear Engineering (especially Reactor Physics and Dynamics); Lappeenranta University, Finland

Prof. Christian Ekberg

Professor, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Industrial Materials Recycling and Nuclear Chemistry, Chalmers University, Sweden

Dr. Erez Gilad

Senior Lecturer, The Unit of Nuclear Engineering & The Unit of Energy Engineering, Faculty of Engineering Sciences, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Prof. Dr. Iztok Tiselj

Professor of Reactor Engineering and Chair for Nuclear engineering, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia

Dr. Emil Kichev

Head, Risk Management Section at Kozloduy NPP, Bulgaria

D. Sc (Tech) Jaakko Leppänen

Research Professor responsible for reactor safety, VTT Technical Research Center of Finland

Prof. Vladimír Slugeň

Professor of Nuclear and Physical Engineering at Slovak Technical University. Since 2015 Director of European Decommissioning Academy.

Prof. Troyo Troev

Professor at Institute for Nuclear Research and Nuclear Energy, Bulgaria

Dr. Ilie Turcu

Senior Researcher, Institute for Nuclear Research Pitesti, Romania

More information