Dr Chloé Cherpin wins the ENS High Scientific Council PhD Award 2023

The ENS High Scientific Council brings together 24 scientists from 19 countries. For the 2023 edition of the ENS HSC PhD Award, the Council received nine nominations from ENS member Societies: namely the Croatian, Czech,  French, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Slovenian, Spanish, and UK Nuclear Societies.

ENS Members Societies provided candidates’ CVs, an extended summary of her/his PhD work, related articles and patents she/he co-authored, and a recommendation letter from her/his national society to the ENS secretariat.

Having examined all this information, the HSC met remotely on April 26 and unanimously decided to select four out of these 9 candidates to enter the final stage of the contest:

  • Dr Chloé Cherpin (France) “Modelling the behaviour of colloidal corrosion products in the primary circuit of Pressurized Water Reactors”
  • Dr Márton Király (Hungary) “The properties of nuclear fuel cladding materials under normal operation and accident conditions
  • Dr Pilar Cano Megias (Spain) “Characterization of main ion properties for the optimization of future fusion power plants”
  • Dr Simone Siriano (Italy) “Numerical simulation of MHD flows in breeding blanket and plasma-facing components”

On 22-23 November 2023, the ENS HSC invited the finalists for a technical tour to the ITER site, in Cadarache, and organised their audition in Aix-en-Provence. After a long debate, Chairman Eric Proust announced that Dr Chloé Cherpin received the ENS HSC PhD Award 2023 with a prize of 2000 euros. Three other competitors have received the Laureate title.

The Award ceremony in person will be organised at any possible conference in 2024.