ENS High Scientific Council PhD Award 2019 goes to Dr Marion Losno

On 31 October the High Scientific Council members have organised a final stage of its PhD Award 2019 contest in Brussels. Four short listed candidates out of twelve, were nominated by the nuclear national societies from France, Czech Republic, Israel and Slovakia

After the audition of all four candidates, the HSC decided unanimously to award Dr Marion Losno for her excellent performance and innovative approach during the PhD work. Dr Anna Michaelidesova, who was recognized as the second-best candidate, was in addition awarded a special mention from the HSC.

The HSC brings together 22 scientists from 15 countries and organised for the second time the European PhD contest.

The short four final candidates were:

  • Dr Marion Losno Thesis title: Development of a separative microsystem for radionuclides analysis in nitric acid media on organic monolith, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France
  • Dr Marat Margulis, thesis title: Feasibility Analysis of Representative Configurations of Core Degradation During Severe Accidents in Nuclear Reactors, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
  • Dr Anna Michaelidesova, thesis title: Cellular Response to Proton Radiation, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
  • Dr Stanislav Pecko, thesis title: Analysis of Reactor Pressure Vessel Steels Using Positron Annihilation Spectroscopy, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Republic of Slovakia

Congratulations to Dr Marion Losno!