Dr Marco Tiberga wins ENS High Scientific Council PhD Award 2021

The ENS HSC brings together 23 scientists from 17 countries. For the 2021 edition HSC received nine nominations from ENS member Societies: namely the Austrian, Belgian, Finnish, French, Israeli, Italian, Netherlands, Spanish and Ukrainian Nuclear Societies.

ENS Members Societies provided candidates’ CV, an extended summary of her/his PhD work, related articles and patents she/he co-authored, and the recommendation letter from her/his national society to the ENS secretariat.

Having examined all this information, the HSC met remotely on April 27 and unanimously decided to select four out of these 9 candidates to enter the final stage of the contest:

  • Dr Niels Cautaers (Belgium) “Nanoscale study of ageing and irradiation induced precipitates in the DIN 1.4970 alloy”
  • Dr Laura Clouvel (France) “Uncertainty quantification of the fast flux calculation for a PWR vessel”
  • Dr Ilkka Pohjalainen (Finland) ”Gas-phase chemistry, recoil source characterization and in-gas-cell resonance laser ionization of actinides at IGISOL”
  • Dr Marco Tiberga (The Netherlands) “Development of a high-fidelity multi-physics simulation tool for liquid-fuel fast nuclear reactors”

0n 10 November 2021 the ENS HSC organised an audition of preselected candidates and after long debate Chairman Eric Proust announced that Dr Marco Tiberga receives the ENS HSC PhD Award 2021 with a prize of 2000 Euro. Three other competitors have received the Laureate title.

The Award ceremony will be organised at any possible conference in 2022, as soon as pandemic situation will allow.