ENS High Scientific Council announces laureates of the 2019 ENS PhD Award

ENS Member Societies submitted 12 entries to the 2nd edition of the PhD Award organised by the ENS High Scientific Council. All entries were of excellent quality, underlining once more the strength of our network of nuclear professionals and our ability to promote excellence in science and engineering.

The ENS High Scientific Council (HSC) had the difficult task to select four candidates for the final stage of the contest. Those four candidates will be given the opportunity to present and discuss their PhD work in front of the HSC at its October 31, 2019 dedicated meeting in Brussels.

Having examined the material provided for all candidates, the HSC met on April 17 for final discussions. As a result, the HSC unanimously decided to select the following four finalists:

  • Dr Marion Losno, nominated by the French Nuclear Society
  • Dr Marat Margulis, nominated by the Israeli Nuclear Society
  • Dr Anna Michaelidesova, nominated by the Czech Nuclear Society
  • Dr Stanislas Pecko, nominated by the Slovak Nuclear Society

Each finalist received an official letter inviting her/him to the HSC meeting on October 31, and to the exclusive HSC workshop that will take place the day before.

The Award Ceremony will take place at an international nuclear conference in spring 2020.

About the HSC PhD award

The ENS High Scientific Council highly values excellence, innovation, and originality in scientific research in the field of Nuclear Science and Engineering. In order to express this point of view and to encourage these traits among PhD students, the HSC has decided to support the European Nuclear Society in the organization of an annual award for an outstanding PhD student based on the scientific merit, the degree of innovation, and the extent of originality of his/her dissertation.