New Cooperation Agreement To Foster Nuclear Training In Poland

Polskie Elektrownie Jądrowe (PEJ) and the Warsaw University of Technology (WUT) signed a cooperation agreement to foster the exchange of experience and the development of joint scholarship programmes and internships, in order to support the process of building human resources for the nuclear industry in Poland.

Under the agreement, the Polish company and the university undertake to work together on a curriculum to enable WUT graduates to acquire the knowledge and skills necessary to find employment in the nuclear sector.

Beyond the development and implementation of those programmes, PEJ and WUT will also organise contests for scientific papers and projects.

The execution of the nuclear power plant project and the associated development of the entire industry considerably increases the demand for both well-trained engineering personnel and experts in the field.

said Prof. Krzysztof Zaremba, Rector of the Warsaw University of Technology

The first nuclear power plant will be the largest investment project in the energy sector and in Polish history. The power plant in Pomerania could cover the demand for electricity of as many as 12 million households in Poland […] We really need Polish engineers to participate in the process of building Polish nuclear power plants. Therefore, the agreement signed today is a step forward and a response to demand in the coming years.

said Anna Moskwa, Minister of Climate and Environment.

Read the full PEJ Press Release.

Polish universities have already started undertaking steps to support the Polish Nuclear Programme.

Last February, six Polish universities signed a letter of intent for the roll-out of new nuclear energy-related courses to begin in the coming academic year, so as to educate and train the country’s future nuclear workforce.

The six universities which signed the letter of intent are:

  • Poznań University of Technology,
  • Silesian University of Technology,
  • Gdańsk University of Technology,
  • AGH University of Science and Technology Stanisław Staszic in Krakow,
  • Warsaw University of Technology,
  • Wrocław University of Science and Technology.